The women who inspire me the most: Part One

I’ve been feeling unmotivated lately, so I thought I’d get my thinking hat on and touch base with some of the women who inspire me all the time, to hopefully boost my mood and get me motivated again! I’ve written a Top 10 women who inspire me the most; here are the first 5. Let me know what you think!

Giovanna Fletcher

giovanna

Perhaps not your stereotypical inspiring figure, but Giovanna is probably the one woman I look to the most. I wish I had her upbeat attitude towards life.

Reasons why I look up to her? *clears throat*… She’s just had her second baby (massive congrats Mummy and Daddy Fletcher on the newest McBaby!), she’s halfway through writing her fourth novel (four novels in 3/4 years!), she’s married to a musician who has been open before about having Bipolar disorder, AND she still finds the time to be an ambassador for Coppafeel, create vlogs for nearly 130k YouTube subscribers, and be a constant support for the mummy community on social media.

Ellen DeGeneres

Ellen-Degeneres

I was the happiest little thing when they FINALLY started broadcasting Ellen’s show on ITV2 this year. Okay, I’ve got a very British sense of humour, so I’m not particularly enthused by Ellen’s comedy. It’s her philanthropy and campaigning that I totally look up to.

I really believe that race or sexual orientation should not be something that causes conflict. In this day and age, we should be equal regardless of what we look like or who we fall in love with. This, I feel, is basically Ellen’s ethos and outlook on life. She campaigns for LGBT+ rights and she raises and gives away millions of dollars to charitable causes. She isn’t afraid to call people out on things. The world needs more people like Ellen. I was going to write “more Ellen’s”, but there is only one Ellen DeGeneres.

Malala Yousafzai

Malala-Yousafzai_Antonio-Olmos

Malala deserves every bit of praise she gets. She got shot in the face, survived, and hasn’t let it stop her; in fact, she’s used what has happened to her to bring about so much positive change that she should be an inspiration to us all. She is one girl who wants to change the world for the better. Imagine if we could give all the girls who want to go to school the chance to have a voice like Malala’s.

I’m ashamed that I still haven’t finished Malala’s book, I am Malala (once I do, I’ll definitely be writing about it). I already know that this book is going to change my outlook on life. As I read further into it, I have to stop to pause, and remind myself that she is only 18 years old. One sentence in her book’s preface made me laugh and cry at the same time, and I’ll never forget it: “I’m 17 now and one thing that has not changed is that I still don’t like getting up in the morning”.

Emma Watson

emma

Oh, what a girl. Someone, please, give me a reason to not find her inspiring! I haven’t got a single bad word to say about her. Okay, I hated her once, when I was 8 years old and I was annoyed that this bushy haired girl had been cast as Hermione and I hadn’t (I was far too young and have always been crap at acting anyway, but back to the point). But I couldn’t hate her for long; Hermione made it okay to be “bossy”, and to be friends with boys!

Emma is the most beautiful, elegant, and perfectly outspoken woman, ever. How many child stars go totally off the rails? How many put their fame to good use to try and create some positive change in the world? I imagine that she’d never need to work again with the amount she’s made by being Hermione, but she still went off to university afterwards, and is now a UN Women Goodwill Ambassador and has created the HeForShe campaign. Malala Yousafzai once told Emma Watson that Emma is the reason why Malala calls herself a feminist. I hope there are more girls out there who listened too. Emma is the perfect role model for young girls out there.

Sheridan Smith

sheridan smith funny girl menier

I could bang on about how much of an incredible actress and singer Sheridan is for hours. I’ve never seen her perform on stage, but there are loads of videos on YouTube of big performances she’s given, and if you haven’t watched her take on Cilla Black in Cilla, why haven’t you?! She blew me away. But this isn’t the big reason why Sheridan is on this list.

I was lucky enough to meet Sheridan Smith on my 21st birthday, when she was at my university’s graduations to receive an honorary degree. I’d adored her for years, thanks to my obsession with Gavin and Stacey. I was a bit of a blabbering mess. But she was lovely! She laughed and must’ve hugged me a thousand times while I went on about how much I loved her. I managed to calm down enough for a bit of a proper conversation and a picture before she had to run off to go do the hat throw. She was a ray of sunshine, and if she could be that happy and lovely to some random girl, well, why can’t we all be?

IMG_3060

Leave a Reply

