The women who inspire me the most: Part Two

Welcome to part two of the women who inspire me the most. Let me know what you think of my choices!

Carrie Hope Fletcher

carrie.jpg

As I write this, Carrie Fletcher is in Disneyworld Florida. Wait, that doesn’t make her inspirational to me? She’s on holiday! Basically, I’m jealous of her. Hers is the life I used to dream about when I was an angsty teen (before I knew she existed). I saw her in Les Miserables in 2014, and got to meet her afterwards. She can sing the roof off any theatre, whereas I resemble Justin from Pitch Perfect. Jealousy is a powerful emotion and is the culprit of so many problems, but I personally think jealousy can be utilised as motivation to achieve your ambitions. That’s why Carrie Hope Fletcher is so inspirational to me; even though I’m not getting very far with my ambitions to go to Disneyworld more, to be independent, have my own flat, be successful in two career paths already…well, at least there’s a lot of fuel in the fire.

Other than that, she’s done some pretty cool charity work recently, raising over £10k for Great Ormond Street Hospital and donating 17 inches of her hair to The Princess Trust. Over the past couple of years, it’s also noticeable that she’s done more to speak out against certain issues like bullying, cyber bullying, body shaming and more.

The Queen

NPG x132904; Queen Elizabeth II by Baron Studios

In 1947, aged just 21, Princess Elizabeth made a speech over the wireless dedicating her entire life to the service of her country: I declare before you all that my whole life whether it be long or short shall be devoted to your service and the service of our great imperial family to which we all belong.

I am now 22, and I struggle to commit to a pair of socks. As for The Queen, she is now swiftly approaching her NINTIETH birthday and is STILL going out and doing her duties as Queen. Now, we Brits love to complain, and we often complain about how late into our lives we’ll be working till. We all whinge that it’s no longer acceptable to retire in your mid-fifties/early-sixties, yet, here is one woman who, at 89 years old, is still going. She is still working for her country. Never has she waivered and very rarely has she let her guard drop. I would give anything to be a bit more aloof; often in my life, being too open with my feelings has been my downfall. When, inevitably, it is her time to pass on, I genuinely don’t know what our country will do without her.

Mhairi Black

mhairi

You know what? I can’t even articulate how much respect I have for this woman. I’ll let her do the talking, and woe betide anyone who isn’t inspired by this incredible speech. Keep on preaching, Mhairi. Keep making people listen to what matters.

Rae Earl

rae

Haven’t seen (or read) My Mad Fat Diary? Well, why not?

Seriously though, Rae Earl’s stories epitomise the campaign to get rid of the stigma surrounding mental health issues. For once, the character is relatable. Sharon Rooney portrayed Rae in the TV series, and as a result, she is now a brilliant voice against mental health stigma too. The stories tackle eating disorders, self-harm, and depression, as well as other massive issues such as an unwanted teenage pregnancy, death of loved ones, falling in love, and divorce.

Rae based all these stories on her own teenage years, so naturally, and for obvious reasons, she’s an advocate for all these issues. She’s a source of support and guidance on twitter that I wish I had when I was a teenager. If she could overcome all those things, which does put some aspects of my life into perspective, well. I can overcome internal battles too.

Hillary Clinton

Hillary Clinton speaks in Washington

Ooooh. How topical of me.

Look, I’ll be the first to admit that American politics confuses me. It also gets to me that the only woman who is in any position to challenge for the Presidency has spent their life being everything else; 8 years as a First Lady, 8 years as a Senator, 4 years as Secretary of State…and that is literally just the surface of her political career. Hypothetically, if she does indeed become President, she’ll be the oldest President (I think. I haven’t googled that, someone said that to me the other day. I could be wrong.) ever. But because of all of her credentials, she deserves it, and I think if she does, it’ll be a really great time to see what happens to America.

I have bought her book, Hard Choices, and it’s currently in the pile of books on my bedside table to read. I’m really looking forward to reading it and learning more about her. Come on love, it’s time to break into the man’s world.

Leave a Reply

