What’s in my make-up bag?

Make up? Make-Up? Makeup?

I innocently started writing this blog post, and now I’m having a total dilemma over the correct way to spell make-up! I’ve always spelt it like “make-up”, but am I wrong?!

Back to the point. I’ve never been hugely into make-up; I only started wearing it when I was 15 (late compared to all the other girls in school). I can’t contour, don’t even try and ask me to do winged eyeliner, and I only wear red lipstick once in a blue moon because it always seems to go wrong.

I am, 8 years after I first started wearing it, getting more into make-up. For the first time ever, all my make-up doesn’t fit into one bag. I know that I actually have to chuck out old lip glosses and eye shadows at some point. I’m getting better with eyeliner and I can (sort of) fill in my eyebrows. I own several palettes – even if I don’t use them a lot, they’re there!

The following is the make-up that goes with me everywhere. Here goes:

IMG_6319.JPG

Make-up bag

I only bought this bag a couple of months ago. It’s from Zoella’s beauty range, and I said to the cashier that it was a present for my teenage cousin. I lied. I don’t have a girl teenage cousin. It’s the perfect bag for me to take around though! And it’s so pretty!

Brushes

I use EcoTools brushes (plus a random cheap foundation one – I need to invest in a better one). These particular brushes I’ve had for a while – they’re the EcoTools starter kit.

Primer

I actually can’t leave the house without some of Benefit’s POREfessional on. It’s the best primer I’ve come across; I must be onto my 5th tube by now. It’s pretty expensive though. I’ve got it as a Christmas present more times than I’ve bought them myself.

Concealer

At the moment I’m using Benefit’s Boi-ing in the light shade. It does the job, although it’s better at covering dark circles than it is spots and blemishes. I prefer Benefit’s Erase Paste, but Benefit is too pricey for me to be able to afford two of their concealers at once.

Foundation

I’ve got at least 5 foundations in my make-up collection. My skin changes colour so quickly with the seasons, I need various shades! With the weather being rubbish at the moment, I’m using Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse in Light Porcelain, and hopefully when the sun gets back, I’ll be able to move back to Rimmel Stay Matte Mousse in Ivory. Wah, I’m so pale.

Highlighting concealer

I only bought this the other day but I really like it – Maybelline’s Dream Touch Lumi Concealer in Ivory. It’s basically a cheaper version of the famous YSL product (which I would LOVE to own sometime soon). Helps me out when I’m looking extra sleepy.

Powder

I am not fussy at all about powder. I happen to have Rimmel’s Lasting Finish 25hr Powder in the shade…um, I think it’s number 4? I don’t actually know. It works for me. Maybe not for 25 hours, but ew, why would you wear make-up for 25 hours straight?!

Blusher

Now this I should really have chucked out by now, I’ve had it for years. I don’t even think Benefit sell Thrrrob any more – its very similar to their popular Dandelion blusher, which I imagine I’ll buy when this one finally runs out.

Bronzer

Can’t go wrong with Hoola; again, from Benefit. Best bronzer out there.

Lip tint

I got this in one of my Benefit palettes – the Rose Tint. I don’t really know why I use it. The product says it’s a lip and cheek tint. Quite frankly, I don’t need any help making my cheeks rosy, so lips it is. I like the smell and, if I can’t be bothered with lipstick, it makes my lips go a nice pinky colour.

Lip balm

I actually can’t live without Vaseline, and the cocoa version smells lush.

Eyebrow gel

I bought Benefit’s Gimme Brow in the lighter shade on a complete whim.It’s really easy to apply; almost like a mascara for your brows. I’d never been a fan of filling in my brows before. However, with bigger eyebrows in fashion, winter making my hair go darker, and my big glasses, I started to ponder the idea. I’ll never be able to, or want to, pull off Cara Delevigne style eyebrows, but I like the way this gel make my brows look.

Eyeliner

Despite being terrible at applying eyeliner, I actually own a fair few eyeliners. The one I’m reaching for the most at the moment is my old Estée Lauder kohl pencil in brown. I like to apply a thin line of it across my top lash line and smudge it a bit with my eyeliner brush.

Eye make-up and glasses are a bit of an odd mix; lots of eye make-up is a bit pointless because my glasses are the first thing people will see. That’s my opinion, I might be completely wrong – let me know what you think in the comments. I tend to save the effort for when I’m not wearing my glasses!

Mascara

Finally, and my all time favourite item of make-up: my mascara. I rarely buy the same mascara twice. I love trying out new ones. At the moment, I’m using Benefit’s Roller Lash. It’s jet black, has a curvy applicator brush that gets every last lash. It’s pricer than I used to pay for mascara. But, as the guy I’m dating said when I dragged him shopping, “baby, if it makes those eyes pop, I won’t judge you for spending that much”. And that’s what I think this stuff does. I love it.

I hope you enjoyed this little tour of my make-up bag. Thanks for reading!

 

13 thoughts on “What’s in my make-up bag?

Leave a Reply

