Feeling Flat?: Monday Motivation

So, today, I thought I’d share my little ways to get my creativity back and to sweeten up my mood. It’s April, which means April Showers, extra work hours because of school holidays, and so on! Sometimes a sunny day is all it takes to lift my mood, but these are some of the things I do when that’s not enough – or it’s chucking it down!

Get Outside

Clouds or shine, there is nothing like getting out and about. I spend far too much inside and so I try to get out when I have the time to. I live right on the edge of the countryside, so I can just walk out the door or take a small drive and I can find inspiration from my surroundings and the fresh air.

Start a new project – or pick up an unfinished one

At the moment, I haven’t got a big cross stitch on the go, so I have to find other things to do! My projects at the moment include this blog and I have a couple of little cross stitches to do.

I also really enjoy projects and tasks that you can that you can complete in a day or so. Like, the other week, I took apart my bookcase, rearranged everything, got rid of some rubbish, tidied it all, and put it back together, but differently. I know, I know, it sounds dull. All my favourite books are now where I want them, and it’s a much calmer spot in the corner of my room. A messy room is a messy mind – and as I only get half-a-room here, it has to be how I want it…tidy, with things where I put them!

My next project; I’ve decided on a recipe scrapbook. My Grandma has recipe books handed down to her, handwritten notes and LOADS of magazine and newspaper cut outs. I love the rustic feel of it. Magazines and such do have so many good recipes in, and it’d be good to have a place to store these properly. Plus…I love scrapbooking! I have a book I made when I was 8 or 9 after a trip to Paris, one from my teenage best friend that I’ve added to, one from leaving school, and one from my year as Vice-President of my SU. On a similar line, I made a photo album from my years at university. AND I made a scrapbook for each of my 5 best friends who were in the SU team with me. Phew! I know, it’s loads! Can’t get enough!

Losing myself in media

Whether this is YouTube or one of my favourite TV shows, sometimes all you need is a binge in front of the telly/computer. My favourite TV shows at the moment are Game of Thrones, Once Upon A Time, The Middle and Say Yes to the Dress. On YouTube, I am loving Tanya Burr, and I recently discovered the Spirit Young Performers Company and Marcus Butler. I always enjoy catching up with old favourites too; namely, Carrie Hope Fletcher, Tom Fletcher, and Giovanna Fletcher. Yes, yes, I am such a McFly junkie! However, I do think I’d be a fan of them all regardless.

Go somewhere that makes you happy

Similar to my first thing; if I really need a pick me up and a walk just won’t cut it, I go find somewhere that I feel happy in. For me, more often than not, these are coffee shops. Costa and Café Nero are both one town across from me, as well as my all-time favourite tea rooms, Betty’s. If anyone reading this is anywhere near York, Harrogate, Ilkley or Northallerton (all North Yorkshire, UK) – get yourselves to Betty’s.

I found myself back there on a day off this time last week. Unashamedly, I wandered in by myself, found a little comfy corner, grabbed some local papers and my blog notepad (the one from my latest shopping trip), and ordered the Yorkshire Cream Tea. Sometimes, alone time to treat yourself is exactly what is needed to pick yourself up. It definitely worked – three blog posts in the past week, and lots more planned!

What about you? Any other ideas for battling bad moods and low points, let me know in the comments. Thanks for reading!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Feeling Flat?: Monday Motivation

Leave a Reply

