April High Street Haul

This month, I found myself back in Hull and in one of my favourite shopping centres, St Stephen’s. You’ll see from my haul that I’ve been very into make-up this month. I must remember that I’m not a famous beauty blogger, and can’t buy loads of make-up on a whim to try once and never touch again. I’m really pleased with my purchases, so I will be staying away from drug stores for a while!

Make-Up

Real Techniques Stippling Brush – Boots, £11.99

IMG_5439

This is my favourite new make-up item. The packaging said for use with cream or liquid based products, which is perfect for the foundations I use. I’ve been after a foundation brush for ages (I complained about it way back in my make-up bag blog!). It’s very soft to touch, which made me think it wouldn’t work very effectively and retain a lot of the product, but I don’t think it does. I get a much better finish than I did with my old brush or with my fingers. I’m happy!

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge – Boots, £5.99

IMG_5442

Better known as a beauty blender, these are very in fashion at the moment. I’m still kinda trying to figure out how to use it, so I can’t really give a proper review on it yet. Watch this space?

L’Oreal Infallible Sculpt Contour Palette in Light/Medium – Superdrug, £9.99

IMG_5445

So, remember I said I had no idea how to contour? This is another trend in make up right now that definitely isn’t going anywhere any time soon. Rather than avoid the bandwagon, I decided to hop on. The product is quite creamy to touch, which makes it fairly easy to blend. I’ve still got a lot of practising to do to get the contouring right, but this product seems pretty good for a beginner like me.

Maybelline Dream Satin Liquid Foundation in Light Porcelain – Superdrug, £7.99

IMG_5446

Public promise to myself right now – this is the LAST foundation I’m allowed to buy until I run out of at least two of them! I’ve spent so much on foundations in the past few months and it must end now!

That being said, here are my reasons as to why I’ve gone and bought another foundation: I had a couple of mousse foundations, but for some reason, my skin has been quite dry this month, and I feel like mousse foundations cling to the bad bits. I have got a couple of liquid foundations already, but they are the completely wrong shade until Summer hits again.

I really like this foundation, especially with my new brush too. It gives good coverage and is build-able for those trouble-skin days or when I’m going out.

Maybelline Master Shape Brow Pencil in Soft Brown – Superdrug, £2.99

IMG_5447

Well. You can see I’ve been using this! I went to get my eyebrows shaped this month; I’ve had the same woman wax my brows since I was 15 – she always does a great job and keeps them slightly in line with what’s in fashion right now, so at the moment my brows are a little thicker than they used to be, but I love them. However! To my absolute horror, my beautician told me I have a little bald patch on my left brow, making them every so slightly uneven until it grows through! Sob! So I ran straight to Superdrug for something to fill in my gap. I like this pencil, but I do think it’s going to go quite quickly; it’s texture is like soft kohl, hence why it’s so blunt already. That’s its only downside though.

Maybelline Master Brow Pro Palette Kit in Soft Brown – Superdrug, £6.99

IMG_5448

I picked this up on a bit of a whim during my eyebrow crisis. It has a wax, a filler, and a highlight. I can honestly say the highlight doesn’t do that much. Also, if there is one thing I’ve learnt, put the wax on before ANYTHING! So – wax, shape with the pencil, fill, highlight. Seems alright as a little brow palette – my only other criticism would be that it’s a little pricey for what it is and it’s quality.

Clothing

I honestly wasn’t going to go clothes shopping this month. I found myself with a couple of hours to kill and New Look had a sale on. Whoops! Oh well!

Blue Abstract Print Skater Dress – New Look, £5.00 sale price

IMG_5450

A fiver! For a dress! Yayyy! I love the pattern on this. It’s quite long for a skater dress; I’m 5’8″ and it falls just above my knee. It’s very slimming rather than curve clinging too, again, unusual for a skater dress on me. But the pattern rules all for me. I’m looking forward to wearing this in summer with some cute gladiator sandals (please stay in fashion forever!), but because it is long, it could also be worn in winter with a navy cardigan or jumper. Sweet!

Navy Tab Side Pinafore Dress – New Look, £12.00 sale price

IMG_5454

At some point (May. I’ve decided May will be my month to work my ass off to get a grown up job), I hope to have job interviews. Now, I am not a suit wearing girl. My suit wearing days died with my school days. I think this dress is a perfect alternative for a job interview. A white blouse underneath, tights and some smart shoes (brogues, maybe), and I think this will look so professional. It’s A-Line in style, and lined as well, so a blouse isn’t going to ruin the dress from underneath. Pleased with this purchase!

White Stripe Double Pocket Roll Sleeve Shirt – New Look, £19.99

IMG_5451

Okaaay, so this wasn’t in the sale. However! New Look normally do 10% student discount, and they had a 20% discount promotion, so I actually got £4 off the full price above.

The material is really light; perfect for summer. I’m planning on wearing this on (hopefully!) a summer holiday somewhere: probably style it with a pair of high-waisted shorts and my big, black floppy hat that I got from Topshop last year (you know the one. It was iconic in summer fashion last year. I intend to keep it in style this summer too! Haha!).

Necklace – New Look, £3.00

IMG_5449

How gorgeous is this necklace? It was £3 down from £7.99 (I think). I can’t find it on New Look’s website, so can’t give you it’s proper name. Keep an eye out in shops! Not that it’s relevant, but the guy I’m dating and my best friend bickered about whether or not it’s a “hippy” necklace; I’m went with “fake hippy”. All I care about is that the colours match a lot of my wardrobe, and I like the different charms.

And that concludes this month’s haul. I’m thinking of making this a monthly feature – please let me know what you think! They won’t always be as big as this, as I can’t really afford to always do hauls with this many items. Must have more self-control.

Thanks for reading, lots of love!

One thought on “April High Street Haul

Leave a Reply

