Scared.

We all have lots of reasons to be scared. Life’s little stresses and fears can build up and next thing you know, we’re all listening to “Happy” and trying to avoid our own terror and anxiety taking over.

Looking at my own life and feelings that have lead to me writing this as my example; I’m scared of lots of things. I’m starting a new job on Monday. I’m bricking it. What if they think I’m no good? What if I actually AM no good?

With the new job comes another move. I’m not as scared about moving; it’s back to the city I love and miss, where I have great friends and, come September, my boyfriend too. I love the support base I have there. But moving is always scary – no matter how many times you do it!

My relationship is still pretty new. I’m a daydream believer, and boy, does he make me daydream. He makes me happy. The feelings I have scare me. Fear of heartbreak sings true for a lot of people out there. (A – if you actually read this blog, don’t tell me off for writing that!)

I worry about my friends and family. Selfishly, I don’t want to lose anyone, but I don’t want them to feel pain either. Fear of death or a loved one’s hurt is ever present.

This leads me onto what motivated me to write this post. Countless families were hurt and lost loved ones in Orlando a few days ago. A family in West Yorkshire lost their loved one today.

I’m scared of the world we live in.

A world where a young, innocent mother is shot on the street, whilst carrying out her job. Jo Cox was an MP (Member of Parliament, for any readers who don’t know), but, just looking at tributes on Twitter, it’s clear that she was a woman who loved humanity. She was a charity worker until she became an MP. She was one of the few politicians out there who genuinely cared about people and tried to make people’s lives better. As a country, we lost a good one today. I fear a day where a person can walk into Parliament and realise that everyone there is using politics simply as a career boost and a game that posh public schoolboys like to fuck with. We need the good ones, Britain. They’re the ones that are going to make our country and our communities better places to be.

Two countries; two acts of terror. Two different scales of attack, of course, but each bring their own devastation. It scares me, guys. We have to be the generation that fixes our world. No person should walk down a street and fear for their life. No person should be out dancing with their friends and fear for their life. We have to fear the worst and use it to motivate us to strive for the best.

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace 

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

 

6 thoughts on “Scared.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and feelings so beautifully and candidly! You’ve really created such a heartfelt, carefully written post which tackles a number of things that each of us can relate to! Very inspiring writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

