York St Nicholas Fair: Christmas Markets

Day 2 of Blogmas

I visited York Christmas Markets on the first weekend they opened. I adore York at any time of the year. I love the history. I love the cafes. I love the little, winding streets. I love that the centre of York has more shops than you see on the high street in any town and city – boutiques galore! I love Christmas and I love York; I was obviously going to love my day out to the Christmas Markets.

So 12 of us decided we’d head off to York. We got into the city centre at about 2pm. I’d recommend getting the park and ride; we were parked there in no time, and it was only about 10-15 minutes bus ride into town, for £2.80 adult return.

xmas-shopping-620-213

We stopped off first at the “Shambles Kitchen” for a bratwurst. The queue was pretty big, but worth the wait! We then spent the whole afternoon wandering up and down the market stalls. They’re so cute, little chalet-type huts. Most of them looked like local businesses, which I’m such a fan of. We had some mulled wine, there was a brass band playing in the square in Parliament Street, and we tried as many freebies as we could! I managed to restrain myself (and my purse strings), and I only got some baubles. They were little, wooden ones, with pictures of trees and a snowman hand painted onto them. When I grow up and have a big Christmas tree of my own, my vision is to have lights and beads, but for every bauble to be individual, with it’s own little memory of how and where I got it. The collection is still quite little, but I think I’ve got a while until I have my big tree!

Having been to the Manchester Christmas Markets back in 2010, I would definitely sooner go back to York’s markets. I got a much nicer feel, and every stall was different and unique. When I went to Manchester, I remember seeing a lot of stalls selling the exact same thing, and that’s just not interesting, even if it makes the markets there as big as it was. York is so quaint, and honestly, there is something so romantic about the stalls, the lights. I’ll have to get my boyfriend to come with me for a visit.

The York St Nicholas Fair brings magical stalls and merriment from 17 November right up to 23 December. The market spreads across Parliament Street, St Sampson’s Square and The Judge’s Lodging, Davygate, Coppergate and the Shambles Market.

Market opening times: Sun – Weds: 10:00 – 18:00, Thurs – Sat: 10:00 – 20:00

Market details and featured image credit here. 

3 thoughts on “York St Nicholas Fair: Christmas Markets

Leave a Reply

