2016: A Review – It was alright, actually!

Day 20 of Blogmas

After depressing you all yesterday with the reasons why 2016 has been a horrendous year, I wanted to find the silver linings and cheer us all up! Here’s my Top 5 reasons why 2016 has been pretty alright.

5. We came 2nd in the Olympics AND 2nd in the Paralympics. Rule Britannia!

I love the Olympics! Every 4 years, I become a slave to the TV and binge watch as much sport as I can cram into my routine. This year was no exception – even if I didn’t like the time zone! Jason Kenny, Laura Trott, Mo Farah, Rachel Morris, Andy Murray, Ellie Simmonds, Helen Glover and Heather Stanning… I could go on for ages about all my favourites. Obvioulsy the biggest shout out has to go to diver Jack Laugher – because he’s a local lad, from close to my home town, and he brought back a Gold and a Silver!

BA Team GB arrival on victoRIOus.jpg

4. Planet Earth II: A Television Masterpiece

Best thing to happen on telly all year. I heard the other day that more 16-25 year old’s tune in to watch Planet Earth II than they do to watch the X-Factor. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but I love it anyway!

David Attenborough is a god among men. 90 and still going strong. What a hero.

maxresdefault.jpg

3. HARRY POTTER CAME BACK!…ish.

This year, JKR blessed us with the Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. So, we don’t really have any new Harry/Ron/Hermione stories, but the Wizarding World lives on, and I, for one, am hella grateful.

2. Personally, I’ve done okay.

Okay, so I probably didn’t need to indulge my own ego here, but I’ve had a pretty good run in 2016. I lost weight, I got a job, I moved back to Hull. God knows what 2017 will bring, so I’ll savour this year while I can.

1. If I haven’t cheered you up already, read this list of everything else that was good in 2016!

Okay, I’m cheating slightly and not giving a real number 1 best thing of 2016. Can I name this Tumblr post as my number 1 reason why we’ve had an okay year? I’m going to say yes.

One thought on “2016: A Review – It was alright, actually!

Leave a Reply

