My Sunday Bake: Vanilla Choc-Chip Cupcakes

So, firstly, I actually made these last Sunday, but they turned out so well I had to share the recipe. Secondly, I made them more like the size of a fairy bun, as opposed to a big cupcake. More to share!

These were the fluffiest buns I made in a long time! Super light and super easy.

For the cakes:

  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 225g margarine (at room temperature)
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 100g chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate chips in these cakes but you can choose)

Unlike when I made my chocolate muffins, I didn’t go for the all in one method. I used my kitchen aide to beat together the margarine and sugar, then I added the eggs and dry ingredients bit by bit until the cake mix came together. I held back with the vanilla and the chocolate chips until the mix was together. That way, I could keep adding vanilla. There’s probably not much logic to that, but hey, that’s how I made them! Haha!

There were about 2 tablespoons of mix per cake, and I made 18 cupcakes. In the oven for 180 degrees celsius for 18-20 minutes.Β 

For the glaze icing:

  • 1.5 cups icing sugar
  • 2-3 tablespoons boiling water
  • 3 teaspoons cocoa powder

I’m not going to lie to you guys, I had a bit of a nightmare with this icing. I really didn’t help myself, because it was getting pretty late and I got impatient, so started icing when my cakes were still warm. And I definitely added a bit too much water. As you can see… it did go everywhere on some of the warmer cakes. I double coated the icing for a nicer finish and, well. So there was more chocolatey goodness on the cakes!

BUT – despite my self-inflicted icing flaws, it was quick, tasty, and actually, I was much happier having a glaze icing (rather than buttercream or something) because it made the cakes the star of the show.

I also have to tell you about the tea I drank during my baking! For Christmas, my lovely boyfriend bought me a big box full of all different types of tea. I had the Strawberry Sensation tea, and oh my days, so good!

I hope you enjoyed this recipe, let me know what your favourite kinds of cakes/sweet treats are in the comments – I need some inspiration for my next bake!

Have a happy week folks. Thanks for reading xx

Leave a Reply

