A Letter to you.

If you’re British, that’s great, and please listen up. If you’re not British, you know what, the message of this letter is still really important. Pay attention if you’re 18 or older, and can actually do what I’m about to ask you to do. Not over 18? Still important for when you get to that age. 

Time for some democracy.

Dear you,

You. Whoever is reading this. Have you seen the news today? A General Election is coming. On Thursday 8th June 2017, to be precise.

Disclaimer – I am not and I will not tell you who to vote for. That’s not my game. I just want you to vote. Okay? Back to the letter. Dear you. Again. 

What do you mean you’re not going to vote?

What do you mean you don’t know who you’d vote for and that’s why you’re not going to vote?

What do you mean no parties represent you so you’re just going to what, turn a blind eye?

I am not okay with any of this. And you know what? No one should ever accept these as actual questions or responses.

Much like we shouldn’t accept responses from the 57% of 18 to 24 year-old’s who didn’t vote in the 2015 General Election, or much like we shouldn’t accept the 36% of 18 to 24 year-old’s who didn’t vote in the EU Referendum.

I just… you know, I have a lot to say whenever anyone tells me they don’t vote, and as you can see, I say it! But when I actually start to think about the fact that people don’t use their right to have their voices heard, I get so confused.

I just don’t understand why you wouldn’t vote.

Dear you,

We are a generation of people who feel so suppressed that we have multiple social media outlets in which we want to have our voices heard.

I don’t really know at what point our lives became about wanting the world to know our opinions on Twitter but not wanting to have your say on who runs the country?

Seriously, if anyone has an answer for that, please let me know.

It’s so, so easy to vote. You do it in online surveys and polls all the time! I can’t be the only one who wants to have their say on which flavour biscuit Yorkshire Tea is going to crown as the best, or who should win the Brit Award for Single of the Year (both things you can vote in!).

Literally, all you do is this:

  • You go to this website here and REGISTER TO VOTE.
  • You either:
    • get a card in the post, on which you tick a box (for your chosen party) or scribble on (to spoil your vote), you put in the envelope provided, and you post back – as simple as returning something to asos – or you;
    • get a card in the post which tells you the location of your polling station, and on Thursday 8th June, you go to said location and tick a box (for your chosen party) or scribble on (to spoil your vote).

Dear you,

I know I seem… melodramatic. Let me off okay? Millennials are pretty melodramatic, and I’m pretty sure that at 23 I count as a millennial.

But if I’m melodramatic by writing a big blog asking you to vote, then what does that make all the people who died so that us future people could vote?

Once upon a time, unless you were a very rich, land owning, middle aged bloke, you couldn’t vote in Britain. It got a bit better, when, once upon another time, they let all blokes over 18. Then, FINALLY, once upon yet another time, they gave that same right to women!

But it took a long time and a long fight to get to that point.

Emily-Davison-010

Yep. Actual picture of an actual woman who (albeit accidentally) killed herself to try in her campaign to get women the vote. 

Dear you,

Vote for whoever you want. Pick your party or your candidate and you go tick that box.

Even by not voting for a person and spoiling your vote sends out the vital message that our generation is not happy with the current political set up of our country.

Not gonna lie, I would prefer it if you did vote for someone, because although spoiled votes send a big message, well, it’s not going to change who has political power, at the end of the day.

Once you’ve voted, hold onto your hats.

Whatever happens, it’ll be interesting.

Yours Truly,

Me.

One thought on “A Letter to you.

Leave a Reply

